Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Bright map (PDF 1.4 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 24 381
Formal ballot papers - 22 204
Informal ballot papers - 488
Total ballot papers returned - 22 692

2014 two party preferred vote
LIB - 53.3%
ALP - 46.7%

Members since first represented in 1985

Surname First Name Party Period
ROBERTSON Derek J ALP 1985 – 1989
MATTHEW Wayne A LIB 1989 - 2006
FOX Chloe C ALP 2006 - 2014
SPEIRS David LIB 2014 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


This district was created at the 1983 boundary redistribution and first represented in 1985.

Name origin: Sir Charles Hart Bright (1912-1983) was a Supreme Court Judge, Chancellor of Flinders University, Chairman of the Health Commission and of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission in 1969 and 1976.

Size: Approximately 22.8 km²

Location: A seaside largely residential seat to the south west of the City of Adelaide. The district extends south from Somerton Park to include the entire suburb of Hallett Cove.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Bright gains the Eastern part of the suburb of Somerton Park and loses the Western part.

2010 District of Bright map (PDF 806 kB)