2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Enfield map (PDF 923 kB)

Features of the district

This mostly residential district located across the inner northern suburbs of metropolitan Adelaide is sandwiched between the electoral district of Adelaide to the south and Grand Junction Road to the north.

Approximately 16.48 km2

Enfield includes the suburbs of Blair Athol, Broadview, Clearview, Enfield, Kilburn, Lightsview, Northgate and Sefton Park. Enfield also includes parts of the suburbs of Nailsworth, Northfield and Prospect.

This list is indicative only.


The district of Enfield, as it exists now, was created at the 1998 boundary redistribution to replace the former district of Ross Smith, and was represented for the first time in 2002. A previous electoral district of Enfield existed from 1956 – 1970.

Origin of the name
Enfield takes its name from the suburb of Enfield which lies at its centre. The South Australian village of Enfield was laid out in 1843 by George Hickox. He named the village after his birthplace in Middlesex, England - derived from either the Anglo-Saxon word ‘enedfeld’ meaning duck field or the old English word 'feld' meaning open country.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Enfield gains the suburbs of Lightsview and Northgate, and gains parts of the suburbs of Northfield and Prospect. Enfield loses the suburbs of Angle Park, Manningham, Mansfield Park and Regency Park, and the remainder of the suburbs of Collinswood and Ferryden Park. 

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 2002

Member  Affiliation  Period 
John R. Rau ALP 2002 - 2019
Andrea Michaels ALP *2019 -


Members of former historical electoral district of Enfield (during its existence, 1956 – 1970)

Member  Affiliation  Period 
John J. Jennings ALP 1956 - 1970

Election results

2019 By-election results
2018 State Election results

2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results 

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner