Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Heysen map (PDF 1.59 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 25 405
Formal ballot papers - 23 014
Informal ballot papers - 630
Total ballot papers returned - 23 644 

2014 two party preferred vote
LIB - 61.0%
ALP - 39.0%

Members since first represented in 1970

Surname First Name Party Period
McANANEY William P LCL 1970 – 1975
WOTTON David C LIB 1975 – 1977
WOTTON David C LIB 1985 – 2002
REDMOND Isobel M LIB 2002 -

LCL = Liberal and Country League
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


Created at the 1969 redistribution, the District was abolished at the next redistribution in 1976 but revived in 1983.

Name origin: Sir Hans Heysen (1877-1968) was a distinguished watercolour landscape artist who lived and worked in South Australia for many years. He made his home in the south Mount Lofty Ranges.

Size: 1 102 km²

Location: An outer metropolitan hills seat to the east and south-east of Adelaide which includes residential hills suburbs in addition to market gardening and farming areas.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010:
Gains the remainder of the suburb of Ironbank. It loses the remainder of the suburb of Crafers.

2010 District of Heysen map (PDF 2.13 MB)