Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Napier map (PDF 1.96 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 23 653
Formal ballot papers - 20 358
Informal ballot papers - 906
Total ballot papers returned - 21 264

2014 two party preferred vote
ALP - 59.1%
LIB - 40.9%

Members since first represented in 1977

Surname First Name Party Period
HEMMINGS Terence H ALP 1977 - 1993
HURLEY Annette K ALP 1993 - 2002
O’BRIEN Michael F ALP 2002 - 2014
GEE Jon  ALP  2014 - 

 ALP = Australian Labor Party


This district was created at the 1976 redistribution the district was first represented in 1977.

Name origin: Sir Thomas John Mellis Napier (1882-1976) was for 43 years a Supreme Court Judge including 25 years as Chief Justice. He was appointed Lieutenant-Governor (1942-1973) and Chancellor of the University of Adelaide (1948-1961).

Size: Approximately 156.1 km²

Location: The district, to the north-east of the Adelaide area some 25 km from the central business district incorporates suburbs to the north and north east of Elizabeth and extends east into the foothills.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Gains the suburbs of Evanston South, Kudla, Munno Para, and Smithfield Plains. Also gains parts of the suburbs of Evanston Park and Munno Para Downs. It loses the suburbs of Elizabeth North, and Elizabeth Park, part of the suburb of Craigmore, and the remainder of the suburb of Edinburgh North. 

 2010 District of Napier map (PDF 1.78 MB)