News

Yankalilla supplementary election nominations

Tuesday, 21 April 2015

Nominations open on Thursday 23 April 2015 for the supplementary election for a Councillor for Light Ward, District Council of Yankalilla.

Read more: Yankalilla supplementary election nominations

New South Wales election 2015

Tuesday, 10 March 2015

Electors enrolled in NSW who will be interstate on election day can vote online or by phone using the iVote system.

Read more: New South Wales election 2015

Gippsland South State District by-election

Friday, 06 March 2015

The Electoral Commission SA is now providing early voting facilities for Victorian electors to vote in the Gippsland South District by-election.

Read more: Gippsland South State District by-election

Davenport by-election Saturday

Tuesday, 27 January 2015

If you live in the district of Davenport you must vote in the compulsory by-election on Saturday 31 January.

Read more: Davenport by-election Saturday

Fisher by-election – Court of Disputed Returns

Monday, 19 January 2015

The deadline to lodge a petition with the Court of Disputed Returns for the Fisher by-election is Wednesday 28 January 2015.

Read more: Fisher by-election – Court of Disputed Returns

2015 Queensland State Election

Monday, 19 January 2015

The Electoral Commission SA will provide pre-poll voting facilities for electors voting in the 2015 Queensland State election.

Read more: 2015 Queensland State Election

Davenport by-election candidates

Friday, 16 January 2015

Candidates for the 2015 District of Davenport by-election have been confirmed and the House Of Assembly ballot paper draw is completed.

Read more: Davenport by-election candidates

Nominations open Council supplementary elections

Thursday, 15 January 2015

Nominations are now open for supplementary elections in the following Councils.

Read more: Nominations open Council supplementary elections

Enrol now for Davenport by-election

Thursday, 08 January 2015

Don't miss out on enrolling or updating your details for the Davenport by-election.

Read more: Enrol now for Davenport by-election

Davenport by-election Writ issued

Saturday, 03 January 2015

Confirms the dates for the Davenport by-election.

Read more: Davenport by-election Writ issued

Davenport by-election - Postal Voting

Friday, 19 December 2014

The Davenport by-election will be held on Saturday 31 January 2015. If you will be on holidays during this time you can apply for a postal vote.

Read more: Davenport by-election - Postal Voting

Final result of the Fisher by-election

Tuesday, 16 December 2014

Following a re-count, the final results of the Fisher by-election are now available.

Read more: Final result of the Fisher by-election

Fisher by-election Saturday

Wednesday, 03 December 2014

If you live in the district of Fisher you must vote in the compulsory by-election on Saturday 6 December.

Read more: Fisher by-election Saturday

Fisher by-election candidates

Friday, 21 November 2014

Candidates for the 2014 district of Fisher by-election have been confirmed and the House Of Assembly ballot paper draw is completed.

Read more: Fisher by-election candidates

Last chance to enrol for Fisher by-election

Monday, 17 November 2014

It is the last chance to enrol or change your details for the Fisher by-election.

Read more: Last chance to enrol for Fisher by-election

Victorian State election 2014

Thursday, 13 November 2014

The Electoral Commission SA will provide an early voting centre for electors voting in the 2014 Victorian State election, from Monday 17 November.

Read more: Victorian State election 2014

Fisher by-election Writ issued

Monday, 10 November 2014

Confirms the dates for the Fisher by-election.

Read more: Fisher by-election Writ issued

Return your vote by 5pm today

Friday, 07 November 2014

If you haven't posted your ballot, don't worry - you can still return your vote in person no later than 5pm today.

Read more: Return your vote by 5pm today

Time running out to have your say

Monday, 03 November 2014

The majority of South Australia's eligible voters risk forfeiting their say in the upcoming Local Government elections, warns the Electoral Commission of SA.

Read more: Time running out to have your say

Council postal returns summary now available

Wednesday, 29 October 2014

A summary of Council ballot paper returns processed will be made available at the close of each business day between Monday 27 October and Friday 7 November 2014.

Read more: Council postal returns summary now available

Voting instructions in 19 languages

Monday, 27 October 2014

Multilingual brochures for voting in the 2014 Council elections are now available in 19 languages. The Electoral Commission SA is committed to making our site more accessible to South Australian electors.

Read more: Voting instructions in 19 languages

Over 1.1 Million Voting Packs Mailed

Monday, 20 October 2014

Voting packs for South Australia’s local government elections will be mailed out to all eligible voters from today.

Read more: Over 1.1 Million Voting Packs Mailed

Candidate ballot paper positions

Thursday, 18 September 2014

The close of nominations for candidates occurred at 12 noon on 16 September 2014.

Read more: Candidate ballot paper positions

Close of nominations

Wednesday, 10 September 2014

Nominations for Council elections close 12 noon, Tuesday 16 September 2014.

Read more: Close of nominations

2014 Council Vacancies

Thursday, 04 September 2014

There are 707 vacancies for Council positions in the 2014 election, which includes 51 Mayoral and 656 Councillor positions. 16 Councils do not have a Mayor, but will elect

Read more: 2014 Council Vacancies

2014 Council Nominations

Tuesday, 02 September 2014

Are you a leader, or have you ever thought about working for your local community or Council?

Read more: 2014 Council Nominations

Council candidate nomination kits

Thursday, 21 August 2014

Available to download now.

Read more: Council candidate nomination kits

How to vote at Council elections

Monday, 11 August 2014

New content delivers voting instructions.

Read more: How to vote at Council elections

New page on enrolling for Council elections

Monday, 23 June 2014

Rolls will close on Friday 8 August.

Read more: New page on enrolling for Council elections

Timetable for Local Government 2014 Periodic Elections

Monday, 26 May 2014

Now available to download.

Read more: Timetable for Local Government 2014 Periodic Elections

Updated district background profiles now available to download

Friday, 09 May 2014

Electoral Commission SA's district background profiles have been updated following the 2014 State election.

Read more: Updated district background profiles now available to download

Legislative Council final results

Tuesday, 01 April 2014

Announced 31 March.

Read more: Legislative Council final results

Legislative Council results announced today.

Monday, 31 March 2014

Announcement will be made at 2pm.

Read more: Legislative Council results announced today.

Final House of Assembly results

Friday, 28 March 2014

Now available to download.

Read more: Final House of Assembly results

Schedule for voting in remote areas

Wednesday, 19 February 2014

Now available to download.

Read more: Schedule for voting in remote areas

State election television commercials

Tuesday, 04 February 2014

You can now watch the commercials for the upcoming State election.

Read more: State election television commercials

Australia Day media release

Thursday, 23 January 2014

Electoral Commission SA has prepared a media release ahead of Australia Day.

Read more: Australia Day media release

New publication

Tuesday, 21 January 2014

Enrolling and voting information for Indigenous South Australians.

Read more: New publication

New media release

Monday, 20 January 2014

Strong security in place for State election.

Read more: New media release

New legislation to nominate as a candidate

Friday, 17 January 2014

Potential candidates can now read the new legislation.

Read more: New legislation to nominate as a candidate

Election timetable available

Tuesday, 24 December 2013

The timetable for key State election events can be downloaded.

Read more: Election timetable available

New State election video

Friday, 20 December 2013

Electoral Commission SA has launched a new State election information video.

Read more: New State election video

New council supplementary elections

Friday, 15 November 2013

District Council of Yorke Peninsula and Wudinna District Council are preparing for supplementary elections.

Read more: New council supplementary elections

Pitjantjatjara information now available

Friday, 08 November 2013

Election information in Pitjantjatjara is now available on our Multilingual page.

Read more: Pitjantjatjara information now available

New 2014 District Profiles

Friday, 01 November 2013

New District background profiles are available to download.

Read more: New 2014 District Profiles

Tauondi College Open Day

Thursday, 31 October 2013

Staff from Electoral Commission SA attended Tauondi College Open Day to promote indigenous enrolment and participation.

Read more: Tauondi College Open Day

Suburbs, postcodes and State electoral districts list

Wednesday, 09 October 2013

A spread-sheet of suburbs, postcodes and State electoral districts is now available for download.

Read more: Suburbs, postcodes and State electoral districts list

New Multilingual page

Monday, 30 September 2013

Our Multilingual page has been updated with new content in 18 languages.

Read more: New Multilingual page

Get ready for the State election

Wednesday, 18 September 2013

There is less than six months to go until South Australian voters will go to the polls for the 2014 State election.

Read more: Get ready for the State election

Youth Parliament

Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Youth Parliament South Australia concluded last Friday at Parliament House with the Electoral Commission SA as a key sponsor.

Read more: Youth Parliament

NAIDOC Family Fun Day

Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Electoral Commission SA staff gallantly braved the rains at the NAIDOC Family Fun Day at the Torrens Parade Grounds.

Read more: NAIDOC Family Fun Day

Vision Australia accessibility statement

Thursday, 30 May 2013

Electoral Commission SA is proud to announce this website has achieved Level AA rating from Vision Australia.

Read more: Vision Australia accessibility statement

New Disability Access and Inclusion Plan

Thursday, 30 May 2013

We have updated our Disability Access & Inclusion Plan for the 2014 State Election.

Read more: New Disability Access and Inclusion Plan

Welcome to our new website

Monday, 08 April 2013

The Electoral Commission SA launched a new website on 17 April 2013.

Read more: Welcome to our new website

Upcoming council elections

Wednesday, 30 January 2013

Electoral Commission SA is making preparations for council supplementary elections.

Read more: Upcoming council elections

We have launched a new strategic plan

Tuesday, 29 January 2013

The Electoral Commission SA has launched a new Strategic Plan.

Read more: We have launched a new strategic plan